ISM Day 2023

Come celebrate the Institute for Soft Matter Synthesis and Metrology on the ISM Day, September 21, 2023, at Georgetown Main Campus!


The presentations in the morning and the panel discussion in the afternoon, will be located in Lohrfink Auditorium, located inside the Rafik B. Hariri Building. Please find the schedule of events below.

Schedule ISM Day 2023
9:00 am – 9:15 amWelcome and Introduction – Prof. Emanuela Del Gado, Director of the Institute for Soft Matter (ISM), Georgetown University
9:15 am – 9:30 amA bottom-up approach to soft matter: specificity in molecular interactions with intrinsically disordered proteins – Prof. Steve Metallo, ISM and Department of Chemistry, Georgetown University
9:30 am – 10:00 amMapping residual stress and orientation from material extrusion processes – Dr. Anthony Kotula, NIST
10:00 am – 10:30 am3D Nanowire Networks and Foams – Prof. Kai Liu, Department of Physics, Georgetown University
10:30 am – 10:45 amApplications of Non-Equilibrium Molecular Dynamics in Soft Matter — Polymer Solutions, Polymer Melts, and Gels – Dr. Mauro Mugnai, ISM-NIST Fellow, Georgetown University
10:45 am – 11:00 amCoffee Break
11:00 am – 11:30 amThe Mysterious Ecosystem of the Ocean’s Surface – Prof. Rebecca Helm, Earth Commons, Georgetown University
11:30 am – 12:00 pmUsing mechanical force to study protein conformation, ligand binding and allostery – Prof. Rodrigo Maillard, Department of Chemistry, Georgetown University
12:00 pm – 12:15 pmHow do chemicals get into the skin? – Prof. Peter Olmsted, ISM and Department of Physics, Georgetown University
12:30 pm – 1:30 pmLunch, Faculty Club Restaurant (located inside the Leavey Center)
1:45 pm – 2:00 pmFrom fundamental research to applications and technologies at Georgetown – Dr. Tatiana Litvin-Vechnyak, Vice President, Technology Commercialization, Georgetown University
2:00 pm – 3:00 pmPanel Discussion: Thoughts for the next 5 years of materials research at Georgetown: building collaborative efforts across disciplines for sustainability and societal impact.

Prof. Rebecca Helm, Earth Commons
Dr. Anthony Kotula, NIST
Prof. Kai Liu, Department of Physics
Prof. Rodrigo Maillard, Department of Chemistry
Prof. Steven Metallo, ISM and Department of Chemistry
Dr. Mauro Mugnai, ISM
Prof. Peter Olmsted, ISM and Department of Physics
3:00 pm – 3:30 pmBreak/Poster Set-up
3:30 pm – 5:00 pmPoster Session (3rd floor, Regents Hall)
5:00 pm – 6:00pmReception/Happy Hour (Tent on Terrace outside of the Hariri Building)

Poster Session

The poster session will be held on the 3rd floor of Regents Hall from 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm.

Alimperi Group:

Michaila Curtis, Boshra Nouraie – Mechanical and biological regulation of bone regeneration through bone extracellular matrix

Rahul Patil – Engineering 3D printed pectin scaffold for soft tissue regeneration

Sophie Lipshutz – 3D bioprinting parameters regulate cell functionality.

Yoontae Kim – Adhesion Energy Measurement in 3D Printed Biomimetic Bone-Articular Cartilage Layers Using a Pressurized Blister Test

Del Gado Group:

Alexis Demirjian – Designing Materials to Revolutionize and Engineer our Future (DMREF)

Fabiola Diaz – Stress-Stress Correlations Reveal Force Chains in Gels

Gavin Donley – Time-resolved structure-property relations in model soft gel networks under large amplitude oscillatory shear

Will Buchholtz – Microstructure and Fluctuations in Shear Thickening Suspensions

Vinutha H. A. – Memory of shear flow in jammed suspensions

Gavvalapalli Group:

Charles Ochonma – Enhanced acceptor interaction in strapped conjguated polymers-the role of unsrapped comonomers

Victor Francis – Synthesis and development of Azaacene Polymers

ISM-NIST Fellow:

Mauro Mugnai – Weld Formation via Interdiffusion of Polymer Melts at Different Temperatures–Insights from Molecular Dynamics Simulations

Kertesz Group:

Rameswar Bhattacharjee – Strain-Induced Topological Transition in Acene π-Conjugated Polymers

Metallo Group:

Rajesh Jaiprashad – Small Molecule Binding Specificity and Adaptability in an Intrinsically Disordered Protein

National Institute of Standards and Technology:

Steve Hudson, Paul Salipante – Two-fluid model for nonlinear flow of wormlike micelle solutions

Phillip D. Pickett, Yuanchi Ma, Vivek M. Prabhu – Polyzwitterion Solutions Exhibit Associative Interactions Coupled to Phase Separation

Olmsted Group:

Alexandra Stuer – Permeation of actives through a well mixed lipid matrix of the Stratum Corneum

Shichen Wang – A Comparison of Elastic Models for Polymer Gels Undergoing Phase Separation

Toretsky Group:

Emma McGuire – Evaluating ETS activity and effect of treatment in transfected cells using TK-216 compound shown to bind directly with transcription factors

Olivia Oakley – Visualizing the Effect of (S)-YK-4-279 on EWS::FLI1 and its Protein Partners

Urbach Group:

Tahmida Raheen Iqbal – Sedimentation Structure of SU-8 Colloidal Rods Influenced by Surfactant and Gravity

Van Keuren Group:

Orelle Bulgin – Nanoparticle MRI contrast agents

Leah Chen – A Novel Hydrogen Peroxide Assay Technique for Characterization of Hydrogen Peroxide Responsive Nanoparticles

Campus Map

The presentations in the morning and the panel discussion in the afternoon, will be located in Lohrfink Auditorium, located inside the Rafik B. Hariri Building. The poster session will be held in Regents Hall. Please find a campus map here:


Visitor parking is available in our Southwest Parking Garage. Visitors should use 3611 Canal Road NW as the address when mapping directions using GPS. Click here for detailed driving directions to campus.

Visitor Parking Rates

  • Daily Parking Rate: $25
  • Daily Parking (after 3 p.m.): $15
  • Daily Parking (after 7 p.m.): $10
  • Students with a GU ID, after 4:30pm  (MON-FRI only): $5

All daily passes expire 12:01 am the following day.